Michael Stern

Michael Stern : Kansas City Symphony Rehearsal: Dvořák’s Eighth with Shostakovich

Friday and Saturday, October 27-28 at 8 p.m.
Sunday, October 29 at 2 p.m.
Helzberg Hall, Kauffman Center

Michael Stern, conductor
Mayu Kishima, violin

SUK Scherzo fantastique
SHOSTAKOVICH Violin Concerto No. 1
DVOŘÁK Symphony No. 8

Dvořák’s Eighth Symphony overflows with optimism, melodic genius and folk melodies of his native land. Spanning from dark and brooding to wild and fervent, Shostakovich’s First Violin Concerto is played by Mayu Kishima, winner of the Shanghai Isaac Stern
International Violin Competition. It’s an intensely personal and technically demanding work that weaves the composer’s signature musical motif throughout. This Kansas City Symphony concert also includes Suk’s Fantastic Scherzo, a brilliant work with fetching dance rhythms and melodies saturated with shimmering orchestral colors.